# **Department of Chemistry**

## Minutes of the Meeting of Board of Studies in Chemistry (UG)

A meeting of the Board of Studies in Chemistry (UG) was held on 16.11.2021 at 6.00 p.m. through g meet

#### **Members Present**

Chairman : Dr. S. R. Xavier Rajarathinam.

University Nominee : Dr. Paul Wilson

Principal, Madras Christian College( Autonomous)

Tambaram, Chennai

Subject Expert : Dr.K.Geetha

Associate Professor and Head

PG and Research Department of Chemistry

Muthurangam Govt: Arts and Science College(Autonomous), Vellore

Student Representatives Lingaseh II M.Sc

Members : Dr. T. Jayabalan.

Rev. Dr. Praveen Peter

Dr. V. Collins Arun Prakash Dr.R.Jude Vimal Micheal

Dr. Nahren Manuel Mascarenhus

Mr. J. Mario Leo Joseph Mr. A. Arokia Nepolean Raj

Mr. R. Dhiwakar

Dr. M. Wilson Bosco Paul

Mrs. M. Thenmozhi Dr. N. Vilvamani Mrs.C. Elavarasi Dr.C.JayaKumar

Dr.R.S.Diana Sangeetha

Mrs.V.M.Divya

Mrs.A.P.Angline Mary

The following members expressed their inability to attend the meeting.

1. Dr.RajaVadivelan (Industrial Expert), Manager,

Titan Jewellery, Hosur

2. Mr.R. Dhiwakar

# Agenda:

- 1. CA components and mark distribution
- 2. MOOC course
- 3. Internship
- 4. New certificate courses
- 5. Any other

#### **Outcomes:**

- 1. After the detailed discussion and evaluation, the board approves the revised marks distribution.
- 2. Dr. Paul Wilson suggested to substitute the suitable experiments in the place of Gravimetric analysis. The board accepts his suggestion and it will be considered for the forth coming revision. He also asked the board to define clearly the 'any other innovative' idea for valuation. Dr. S.R. Xavier Rajarathinam responded that it is one of the valuation methods which should be stated by the course teacher or the other conventional methods can be followed.
- 3. Dr. S.R. Xavier Rajarathinam requested the members to suggest new certificate course. Board accepted the request and the new certificate course syllabus will be presented in the next board. For the evaluation of the certificate course new methodology and marks distribution will be presented in the next board meeting.
- 4. Dr. S. R. Xavier Rajarathinam requested the department faculty and students to do more MOOC courses.
- 5. Resolved to start the internship programme for the students admitted in academic year 2021-22 as early as possible after the settlement of COVID situation

S. xoon Reyaly

Dr. S. R. Xavier Rajarathinam Chairman

Head - UG

Department of Chemistry

SHC, Tirupattur

| S.No | Staff Name                       | Sign    | S.No | Staff Name Sign                        |  |
|------|----------------------------------|---------|------|--|--|
| 1    | Dr. T. Jayabalan                 | 4       | 9    | Dr. M. Wilson Bosco Paul               |  |
| 2    | Rev. Dr. Praveen<br>Peter        | D       | 10   | Mrs. M. Thenmozhi                      |  |
| 3    | Dr. V. Collins Arun<br>Prakash   | O       | 11   | Dr. N. Vilvamani                       |  |
| 4    | Dr. R. JudeVimal Micheal         | ful     | 12   | Mrs. C. Elavarasi                      |  |
| 5    | Dr. Nahren Manuel<br>Mascarenhas | *       | 13   | Dr. C. Jayakumar                       |  |
| 6    | Mr. J. Mario Leo<br>Joseph       | اً السا | 14   | Dr. R.S. Diana RSP                     |  |
| 7    | Mr. A. Arokia<br>Nepolean Raj    |         | 15   | Mrs. V. M. Divya                       |  |
| 8    | Mr. R. Dhiwakar 🖊                |         | 16   | Mrs. A.P. Angeline A. P. Angeline Mary |  |

### Department of Chemistry - UG

## Sacred Heart College (Autonomous), Tirupattur, Tirupattur Dist. 635 601.

### Minutes of the meeting of Board of Studies.

The meeting of the UG board of studies was held on 9<sup>th</sup> April, 2022 (Saturday) at 11 am in room no. 37 and member of university nominee and subject expert from outside were participated through online (G meet- https://meet.google.com/htc-udoi-fsz). Dr. S. R.Xavier Rajarathinam, Head of Department of Chemistry welcomed the committee members.

### The agenda were

- PSOs and COs of I B.Sc Chemistry and Allied chemistry for I. B.Sc Biochemistry theory and practical papers
- Varia.

The following members were present for the meeting.

#### **Members Present**

Chairman

Dr. S. R. Xavier Rajarathinam

Members

Dr. T. Jayabalan

Rev. Dr. Praveen Peter

Dr. V. Collins Arun Prakash

Dr. R. JudeVimal Micheal

Dr. Nahren Manuel Mascarenhas

Mr. J. Mario Leo Joseph

Mr. A. Arokia Nepolean Raj

Mr. R. Dhiwakar

Dr. M. Wilson Bosco Paul

Mrs. M. Thenmozhi

Dr. N. Vilvamani

Mrs. C. Elavarasi

Dr. C. Jayakumar

Dr. R.S. Diana Sangeetha

Mrs. V.M. Divya

Dr. A.P.Angeline Mary

## **Subject Experts**

## **University Nominee**

Dr. P. Wilson

Principal

Madras Christian College

Tambaram

Chennai

## **Subject Expert**

Dr. K. Geetha

Associate Professor and Head

Department of Chemistry

Muthurangam Govt. Arts College Vellore

Student Representative

: Mr. P. Nambi, III. B.Sc Chemistry

#### Resolutions

After a detailed discussion in the board,

- 1. Course objectives should be reformed as per the course outcomes.
- 2. Some corrections and modifications of COs in all the subjects were done.
- 3. Record and attendance marks in practicals reformed and marks were given to regular attendance in internal components.
- 4. External examiners list were displayed to the board members.

S. Kan Dry

Dr. S. R. Xavier Rajarathinam Chairman

Head - UG

Department of Chemistry

SHC, Tirupattur

| S.No | Staff Name                      | Sign     | S.No | Staff Name                  | Sign  |
|------|---------------------------------|----------|------|-----------------------------|---|
| 1    | Dr. T. Jayabalan                | 1ª       | 9    | Dr. M. Wilson Bosco<br>Paul |   |
| 2    | Rev. Dr. Praveen<br>Peter       | <u>B</u> | 10   | Mrs. M. Thenmozhi           | G.  |
| 3    | Dr. V. Collins Arun<br>Prakash  | O        | 11   | Dr. N. Vilvamani            | H.A.  |
| 4    | Dr. R. JudeVimal Micheal        | by<br>1  | 12   | Mrs. C. Elavarasi           | and the second  |
| 5    | Dr. Nahren Manuel - Mascarenhas |          | 13   | Dr. C. Jayakumar            | De la companya della companya della companya de la companya della |
| 6    | Mr. J. Mario Leo Joseph         | 而        | 14   | Dr. R.S. Diana Sangeetha    | 5   |
| 7    | Mr. A. Arokia<br>Nepolean Raj   | A. i.    | 15   | Mrs. V. M. Divya            | The sold  |
| 8    | Mr. R. Dhiwakar                 | Dis )    | 16   | Dr. A.P. Angeline Man       | ry 1.7. 419   |